Logo der Universität Wien

History of the European Workshops on General Equilibrium Theory

The European Workshop on General Equilibrium Theory (EWGET) allows participants to present and be informed of the latest developments in general equilibrium theory and its applications in other areas of economics, such as financial markets, decision theory, game theory, economics of information, contract theory, microeconomic theory, public economic theory, theory of finance, networks, macroeconomic and monetary theory.

The European Workshop on General Equilibrium Theory (EWGET) has been held each year since 1991. The first workshop was hosted by the University of Geneva. Other host universities were the European University Institute (1992), Université Catholique de Louvain-la-Neuve (1993, 1997), University of Copenhagen (1994, 1999), Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (1995, 1998), Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne (2000), University of Maastricht (2001), National Technical University of Athens (2002), Universität Bielefeld (2003), University of Venice (2004), Universität Zurich (2005), Universidade Nova de Lisboa (2006), University of Warwick (co-organised with Queen Mary University, 2007), University of Salerno (2008), Universitat Pompeu Fabra (2009), Cracow University of Economics (2010), Universidade de Vigo (2011) and University of Exeter (2012).

Similar workshops have been held in the United States (NSF-CEME-NBER General Equilibrium Conference), Asia (GETA), and Brazil (Gein Rio).

EWGET workshops consist primarily of presentations of submitted papers on the subject of general equilibrium theory and related topics.

Since 2003, the workshops feature invited Plenary Lecture in Honor of Gerard Debreu presented by a distinguished scholar in the field of general equilibrium theory. Past speakers include Leonid Hurwicz (2003), Werner Hildenbrand (2004), Graciela Chichilnisky (2005), David Cass (2006), Andreu Mas-Colell (2007), Roger Guesnerie (2008), Roy Radner (2009), David Schmeidler (2010), Herakles Polemarchakis (2011) and Yves Balasko (2012).

Universität Wien | Universitätsring 1 | 1010 Wien | T +43-1-4277-0